Disk Golf: Disc…what?

There has been a phenomenon going on at the park behind our house, it is called Disc golf.

Disk what?” Yes, that was my very first reaction two months ago as I read a sign on the park’s fence that pertained to a group of people that only threw discs inside a metal basket in a golf-like pattern and called it a sport. As my dog Pinpón (a 7 yr old pomeranian that you’ll later know well), and I walked along the park’s sidewalk I tried not to laugh nor make any precipitated judgement about this weird sight.

I’m used to see sports, since at a very young age I was introduced to some of them, like tai-chi, kung fu, karate, swimming, and running; my dad is a master in Kung Fu, Karate-Do (Gotu-Riu) and in Imua-Limalama (polynesian), and I know what sports look like. Tennis, basketball, soccer, football, rugby…and yea, even real golf have something in common: they involve action and methodic training, not a  a bunch of people throwing discs like crazy. Well, it was going to get worse.

I found them the most invasive and annoying group every time I tried to exercise at the park and do my meditations. I just felt a Swoosh above my head and heard a sorry from the distance. Just felt displaced from my “secret and happy place. I decided not go to the park anymore. “They have many things in common ” I told my self as I peeked through the window, “they (if not all) are overweight (have not anything against overweight people at all), bearded, old, apparently didn’t know about the game, wore kindergarten-like bags for their discs, throw discs like crazy and make cook outs every weekend. When will  those ‘disc throwers’ leave?!!”

It became so annoying that i began investigating, and yes…it ends up that there is a sport called Disc Golfing, and there are championships and all!! “What is wrong with this world?” I said to myself as i closed my laptop “Hmm, is there something beneficial or at least sporty in that? Oh they take up my space!”

It is curious how another walk to the park lead me to an unexpected answer, one I was not expecting.

Sundown of today, as I walked Pinpón, I saw these people again, effortless and throwing some discs towards the baskets, scoring, some laughing. Saw kids playing and running to their parents…and then I saw my neighbour and his kid. He has very limited time to be w/his family and got to see him there at the park with the “disc throwers”. He did fit in the previous physical description I made of them all, even his kid, but there was a warm scene going on: a Father and his Son,  together, playing a “sport” side by side. Smiling at each other, carrying their discs and bags, heading home, waving at me.

Guess I will find somewhere else to exercise and keep up with my goal: to restart with my training, lose more weight, but the lesson was learned…at least this is how I see it.

Leave a comment